Morning

Spent Saturday night in Astoria, Queens, after playing a show at a small pub.

Show went fine.  Wasn’t our type of crowd, but we played well as usual.  Made two-hundred and got to drink for free, so I’m not complaining.  Although, from here on out, I’m going to sip more gingerly my newfound favorite drink: Gin and Tonic.  Phew.

Pete let us stay at his place.  We played with another band, who was able to pull a lot of fans there.  Most of the people we invited didn’t come (which I totally understand, seeing as we exist in eastern Long Island, and we were playing deep into Queens), but we did have Carmine and Pete come.  They grew up in my town but live out there now.

I’ve known Pete since I was, jeeze, in 2nd grade?  Our parents are very good friends.  I consider myself very lucky to have such a good group of friends that I’ve known for so long.

Will and I got up and grabbed some egg sandwiches to down in Astoria Park.  Snapped a cute little photo seen above.  A little girl was playing with a ball with grandpa.  Every time he gave it to her, she’d just throw it away.  Kind of got me thinking; we often discard a good thing.  Especially when we’re young, and we don’t see the truth in our decisions.

It was a beautiful morning, sitting next to the NYC skyline, our hair writhing with the morning breeze.  The great awakening has begun.  I have seen the light at the end of the tunnel.  I am now able to taste it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Morning

  1. Key West

    I like your website. I grew up in Queens. Jamaica Avenue. Didn’t mean to give you crap over on HA.

Leave a Reply

